Lac Pavin : Ballad, Fisheries and gastronomy

Rate this post

The inescapable Pavin Lake near Besse-en-Chandesse : A single space preserved, a nice walk, Sport, all around a crater lake.
Lac du Pavin
It is the Lake the most touristic of Auvergne, its name comes from the latin Pavens Dreadful meaning. May be because of its dark waters and many legends that surround it such as for example the Chair of the devil below ?
Chair of the devil Lake Pavin


Located at an altitude of 1197 m, with an area of 44 hectares, It is deep 92 meters. One of its originality comes from its depth, It is a meromictic Lake : This means that its deep waters (Those of 30 last m) mix less than once a year with those of surface (<60 mètres).

The youngest maar of France

Lac Pavin
Born there is less than 7000 years it comes from the encounter of a lava puy Montchal and groundwater rise. Water in contact with molten lava is transformed into steam creating a very loud explosion and thus the formation of the crater. It will then fill with water to form the Lake is today.

The loop 45 minutes on foot

Way around the Pavin
You can do the tour of the Lake on a wide, landscaped path, count less than an hour to complete this circuit with very little vertical. Attention however to not stumble on the exposed roots, children should also be supervised because portions on the edge of the road are rather steep…

A site of climbing above the waters

Organs of Lake Pavin
The West Cliff used to practice climbing from April until November. The lanes are located on columnar basalt alternating dihedral angles and straight pillars. You will find on-site 24 nearby waterways 20 meters high, they are sides of 4 up to 6 c. Note that on some channels, nature begins to regain its rights…

The eponymous restaurant hotel

A gourmet restaurant (certified Toque of Auvergne) with panoramic views. Alternatively, you can lunch in the brewery and if time allows possibility of eat on the terrace.

Hôtel du Pavin

Take the privilege of sleeping in this unique place, one of 5 rooms welcomes you with stunning views of the Lake. Rooms for 1,2 or 3 people.

A summer exhibition

During the entire month of July and all of August, an exhibition is open to the public next to the restaurant. Free admission allows visitors to discover the secrets and the unique characteristics of the Pavin.

Fishing and boating authorized : Take your card

It is the realm of the boom, trout and especially of Arctic char. Take your map of fishing directly in the eponymous restaurant, different rates are offered : Map to the year, for children, for the day…
You have the possibility to rent a boat to fish for the day or half-day (Reservation).

Location and parking

Since Saint-NECTAIRE, take the direction of Murol then Besse-en-Chandesse, the Lake is then reported. You can then Park your car on the parking along the road 978. (5 minutes walk from the Lake).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Le lac Pavin : Ballade, pêche et gastronomie

Circuit autour du Pavin

L’incontournable lac Pavin à proximité de Besse-en-Chandesse : Un espace unique préservé, une promenade sympathique, du sport, le tout autour d’un lac de cratère.
Lac du Pavin
C’est le lac le plus touristique d’Auvergne, son nom lui vient du latin Pavens signifiant Épouvantable. Peut être à cause de ses eaux sombres et des nombreuses légendes qui l’entourent comme par exemple la chaise du diable ci-dessous ?
Chaise du diable au lac Pavin


Logé à une altitude de 1197m, d’une superficie de 44 hectares, il est profond de 92 mètres. Une de ses originalités vient de sa profondeur, c’est un lac méromictique : Cela signifie que ses eaux profondes (Celles des 30 derniers mètres) se mélangent moins d’une fois par an avec celles de surface (<60 mètres).

Le plus jeune maar de France

Le lac Pavin
Né il y a moins de 7000 ans il nous vient de la rencontre d’une montée de lave du puy Montchal et d’une nappe phréatique. L’eau au contact de la lave en fusion s’est transformée en vapeur créant une très forte explosion et ainsi la formation du cratère. Il se remplira ensuite d’eau pour former le lac qu’on connaît aujourd’hui.

La boucle de 45 minutes à pieds

Chemin autour du Pavin
Vous pouvez faire le tour du lac sur un chemin large et aménagé, comptez moins d’une heure pour boucler ce circuit avec très peu de dénivelé. Attention cependant à ne pas trébucher sur les racines apparentes, surveillez aussi les enfants car sur certaines portions les abords du chemin sont plutôt abrupts…

Un site d’escalade au dessus des eaux

Orgues du lac Pavin
La falaise ouest permet de pratique l’escalade depuis avril jusqu’à novembre. Les voies sont situées sur des orgues basaltiques alternant dièdres et piliers rectilignes. Vous trouverez sur place 24 voies d’environs 20 mètres de haut, elles sont côtés de 4 jusqu’à 6c. Notez que sur certaines voies, la nature commence à reprendre ses droits…

L’hôtel restaurant éponyme

Un restaurant gastronomique (certifié Toque d’Auvergne) avec vue panoramique. Vous pouvez aussi déjeuner dans la brasserie et si le temps le permet possibilité de manger en terrasse.

Hôtel Restaurant du Pavin

Prenez le privilège de dormir dans ce lieu unique, l’une des 5 chambres vous accueille avec vue imprenable sur le lac. Des chambres pour 1,2 ou 3 personnes.

Une exposition estivale

Durant tout le mois de juillet et tout le mois d’août, une exposition est ouverte au public à côté du restaurant. L’entrée libre permet aux visiteurs de découvrir les secrets et les caractéristiques uniques du Pavin.

Pêche et canotage autorisé : Prenez votre carte

C’est le royaume de la perche, de la truite et surtout de l’omble chevalier. Prenez votre carte de pêche directement au restaurant éponyme, différents tarifs sont proposés : Carte à l’année, pour les enfants, pour la journée…
Vous avez la possibilité de louer une barque de pêche à la journée ou à la demi journée (Uniquement sur réservation).

Localisation et stationnement

Depuis Saint-Nectaire, prenez la direction de Murol puis de Besse-en-Chandesse, le lac est ensuite signalé. Vous pouvez ensuite stationner votre voiture sur le parking le long de la départementale 978. (5 minutes à pieds du lac).

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *