Walk around the Lake of Servières

Rate this post

A Lake of volcanic origin in only half an hour drive from Clermont-Ferrand or Saint Nectaire. A refreshing place that offers you a nice walk in the mountains Dore.

By 1200 meters of altitude the Lake is located in the old crater of a volcano (More commonly known as a maar). With a surface area of 15 hectares and a depth of 26 meters it is one of the most beautiful lakes of Auvergne.

Lake Servières

Walk on the path

Count about 30 minutes on foot to make the circle complete without pause. If you want to take the time to enjoy the scenery, you document using panels, count rather an hour. Thus cross the hulks of wood, enjoy the shade of the forest, Discover the history and the life of the Lake through the texts and explanatory diagrams scattered throughout the course.

Pontoon Lake ServièresDue to the high influx of visitors, a circuit circling the Lake has been converted. Several parking you allow you to Park, they are located a few minutes walk and allow the site to keep its original aspect.
Circular in shape (Crater requires), bordered to the South by the mountains of the Combe Perret and the Sioule in the East.

Walkers generally spend a peaceful moment, in the summer some come along there sunbathing, in winter this is snowshoeing or cross-country skiing you can stroll there.
Many explanatory signs are there to inform about the site and awareness of the means put in place in order to preserve this fragile space. From infrastructure to consolidate the banks, passing through small pontoons to prevent damaging the bogs until the scales to jump fences. Many bins are also available to avoid degradation of the environment.

ATTENTION : It is forbidden to bathe, to make boating or again to make fires.

For great hikers : Note that this is the place of crossing between the GR30 and the GR441.

Take a map to go fishing

Fishermen will find trout (Rainbow and fario) and char, the Lake is private, It is managed by the the Michelin staff fishing company. For fishing you will need to purchase a daily or year-round card, Why make yourself in one of the sales points :

Directly on the spot across the main parking lot at the Lake Cafe, This coffee which is also steps cottage opens its doors from 8 h 30, caution it is closed Thursday before the month of may, give a call before go you : 04 73 65 93 63.
Venue also in Aubière in Pacific fishing (43 Avenue of Roussillon,
04 73 28 05 05) or at the late fisherman(88 Avenue Ernest Cristal, 04 73 28 90 51), at the Clermont-Ferrand Decathlon (La Pardieu), Camping Haute Sioule to Saint Bonnet of Orcival, at the Inn of the small Baladou to Pessade.

Getting there by car ?

From Clermont-Ferrand, follow the national 89 then the cowl-necked take the direction of the Gonzales pass, the Lake is then reported.

From Saint-Nectaire, direction Le Vernet Sainte Marguerite, then Saliba cold, the Lake will be then shown.

Can that interest you ?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Promenade autour du lac de Servières

Un lac d’origine volcanique à seulement une demi-heure de route depuis Clermont-Ferrand ou Saint Nectaire. Un lieu rafraichissant qui vous offre une jolie ballade dans la chaîne des Monts Dore.

A 1200 mètres d’altitude ce lac est situé dans l’ancien cratère d’un volcan (Plus communément appelé un maar). D’une surface de 15 hectares et d’une profondeur de 26 mètres c’est l’un des lacs les plus jolis d’Auvergne.

Le Lac Servières

Se promener sur le chemin aménagé

Comptez environ 30 minutes à pieds pour faire le tour complet sans pause. Si vous souhaitez prendre le temps d’apprécier le paysage, de vous documenter à l’aide des panneaux, comptez plutôt une heure. Traversez ainsi les pontons de bois, profitez de l’ombre de la forêt, découvrez l’histoire et la vie de ce lac grâce aux textes et schémas explicatifs disséminés tout au long du parcours.

Pontons du Lac ServièresA cause de la forte affluence de visiteurs, un circuit faisant le tour du lac a été aménagé. Plusieurs parking vous permettent de vous garer, ils sont situés à quelques minutes à pieds et permettent au site de garder son aspect original.
De forme circulaire (Cratère oblige), bordé au sud par la montagne de la Combe Perret et par la Sioule à l’est.

Les promeneurs y passent en général un moment paisible, en été certains viennent sur les rives y bronzer, en hiver c’est en raquettes ou en ski de fond que vous pourrez vous y promener.
De nombreux panneaux explicatifs sont là pour informer sur le site et sensibiliser le public aux moyens mis en place afin de préserver cet espace fragile. Depuis les infrastructures pour consolider les berges, en passant par les petits pontons pour ne pas endommager les tourbières jusqu’aux échelles pour sauter les clôtures. De nombreuses poubelles sont également à disposition pour éviter de dégrader l’environnement.

ATTENTION : Il est interdit de s’y baigner, d’y faire du canotage ou encore de faire des feux.

Pour les grands randonneurs : Notez que c’est le lieu de croisement entre le GR30 et le GR441.

Prendre une carte pour y pêcher

Les pêcheurs y trouveront truites (Arc-en-ciel et fario) et des ombles chevaliers, le lac est privé, il est géré par la société de pêche du personnel Michelin. Pour pêcher il vous faudra donc acheter une carte journalière ou à l’année, pour cela rendez vous dans l’un des points ventes :

Directement sur place en face du parking principal au Café du Lac, ce café qui fait également gîte d’étapes ouvre ses portes à partir de 8h30, attention il est fermé les jeudi avant le mois de Mai, passez un coup de fil avant de vous y rendre : 04 73 65 93 63.
Rendez-vous également à Aubière chez Pacific Pêche (43 Avenue du Roussillon,
04 73 28 05 05) ou au Fin Pêcheur(88 Avenue Ernest Cristal, 04 73 28 90 51), au Décathlon de Clermont-Ferrand (La Pardieu), au camping Haute Sioule à Saint Bonnet d’Orcival, à l’Auberge du Petit Baladou à Pessade.

Comment s’y rendre en voiture ?

Depuis Clermont-Ferrand, suivez la nationale 89 puis au Col de la Ventouse prendre la direction du Col du Guéry, le lac est ensuite signalé.

Depuis Saint-Nectaire, direction Le Vernet Sainte Marguerite, puis Saulzet le Froid, le lac sera ensuite indiqué.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *